Cougars Pitching Stymies RedHawks on Saturday Night

FARGO, ND — Kane County Cougars starter Tyler Beardsley (5-4, 2.76 ERA) allowed only four hits in seven innings pitched to lead his team to a 4-2 victory over the Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks in front of 3,092 fans at Newman Outdoor Field on Saturday evening.

Nick Novak picked up three of the RedHawks’ seven hits — including a solo home run in the fifth inning — and Correlle Prime was the only other ‘Hawk with multiple knocks on the night.

Beardsley struck out four batters and limited Fargo-Moorhead to only one run in his seven innings of work to pick up his fifth win of the season. He leads all Kane County starters and ranks third in the American Association of Professional Baseball with a 2.76 ERA this season.

The RedHawks got within two runs after scoring in the eighth inning before Daniel Bies, who has given up only one earned run in 32.1 innings pitched this season, earned his eighth save of the season for Kane County with a scoreless ninth on the hill.

Kevin McGovern (6-5, 3.54 ERA) pitched well for the RedHawks despite getting the loss, striking out five and walking only one batter while giving up four runs on seven hits in seven innings pitched.

Despite McGovern’s solid performance for most of the night, two runs each in the fourth and sixth innings were enough for the Cougars to take the win.

Colten Davis, who pitched collegiately for Texas-Rio Grande Valley, made his professional debut in the eighth inning for the RedHawks. Davis pitched two scoreless innings in relief of McGovern and struck out three Cougars.

With the loss, the RedHawks drop to 31-28 on the season and remain second in the AAPB’s West Division behind the Kansas City Monarchs. Kane County improves to 28-33 in 2023.

The RedHawks and Cougars will wrap up their four-game series on Sunday afternoon at Newman Outdoor Field. LHP Tyler Grauer (5-1, 3.76 ERA) is slated to start for Fargo-Moorhead against Kane County RHP Jack Fox (5-5, 3.02 ERA). First pitch is scheduled for 1:00 p.m.


ATHLETE: Kevin McGovern